The Delight: Chocolate-y Wonderfulness of Chocolate.

I thought it only fitting that I begin my blog with a sweet post 😀 – so I decided upon sharing a recipe I find works perfect every single time I try it! Now, as you know, I love baking – there’s nothing better than the aroma of something coming out of the hot oven, the warmth in the kitchen when you pull it out (especially in winter :D). Seeing as it was particularly cold this morning, I decided that I would bake something. But what? Definitely something chocolate, and something that wouldn’t take up a lot of time.

What do I bake? Pie? Cake? Brownies?

After what seemed like an eternity (in reality, about a quarter of an hour :D), I finally knew what I was going to bake. A microwave chocolate mug cake! This cake is one of my brother’s favourites. My bakes are eggless (me being a vegetarian), and sometimes I venture into the once-dangerous territory of vegan baking. It so turns out that if you have the right ingredients, a perfect recipe, an eye for detail and patience – you’ll end up with a marvellous bake at the end. (Not to mention several floury aprons and maybe burnt fingers. Just kidding! :D)

The first time I baked a cake – I had a pretty disastrous result. I read the recipe, followed everything to the letter, and put what was to be my very first cake into the oven. When I returned to check on it around a half-hour later – I spotted something on the counter – an unopened box of baking powder. I pulled my half-baked cake out of the oven – and oh dear, it simply collapsed! The whole thing was a runny mess! (though, admittedly, still a delicious one. :D)

Luckily my oven didn’t explode… 😀

Now I know most people believe that eggless bakes aren’t on par when compared to ones made with eggs – but I beg to differ. Some of the most decadent delights I’ve ever tasted have been baked eggless. This cake is definitely a must for all chocolate-lovers out there! (Chocolate monsters, unite!) Believe it or not, it’s baked in a mug. For 2 minutes. In that very microwave oven sitting on the counter in your kitchen right now. Who knew you didn’t need an oven to bake a cake?

I found this recipe on one of my recipe hunts online at Sharmi’s Passions.

Chocolate Mug Cake

Ingredients:

Maida / All purpose flour – 3 tbsp
Cocoa powder – 1.5 tbsp (unsweetened)
Sugar – 3 tbsp (Preferably powdered)
Baking Soda – 1/8 tsp
Salt – 1/8 tsp
Cooking oil – 3 tbsp
Milk – 3 tbsp
Vanilla Essence – 1/4 tsp
Chocolate chips – 1 tsp(optional)

Procedure:

1) Mix the dry ingredients in a microwavable mug well.

2) Add the wet ingredients one by one, and mix well. The mixture should be of a creamy or flowing consistency by now.

3) Microwave for 1 minute at 600 W and microwave again at the highest power possible with your oven for 1 more minute.

Bon Appetit!

I’ll post some pictures the next time I bake this. Hopefully, it’ll be quite soon! This cake, however, is perfect if you have a sudden chocolate craving. Top it off with a bit of chocolate sauce and ice-cream if it isn’t too cold out! 🙂

In the meantime, please read, enjoy and don’t forget to comment! I look forward to hearing from you – it can be suggestions, queries or just plain old feedback!

Catch you later!

Niru ❤

3 thoughts on “The Delight: Chocolate-y Wonderfulness of Chocolate.

    • Thanks for dropping by, Espirational! I agree, I couldn’t have been happier when I found this recipe 🙂 Share it with any chocolate-loving friends you may have – I personally think that the world can’t get enough of chocolate!

I love hearing from my readers. Please comment! :)

