Being You. The You You Were Meant To Be.

I looked in the mirror this morning. I felt good looking at myself. I have never been one of those girls who keep checking themselves in every mirror they pass by. Those girls who have to have every strand of hair on their head in place. Those girls who place everything on appearance. I don’t do that. Yes, it’s important to look good. It’s important to look decent. It’s important to look presentable. But it’s not important to look perfect.

Sometimes it’s fun to let go and have fun. To be the ‘crazy in a good way’ person you were meant to be. Half the fun is going to be taken away if you keep making sure you look perfect all the way through.

Don’t judge a book by it’s cover.

Sadly, that’s what many in the world today do. They judge people on how they look. I try to judge people on how they feel. Something or the other about everyone is beautiful. You’ve just got to look for that particular quality. I’m not perfect in appearance, I know. (Slightly on the heavier side.) I don’t try to be. I have been losing weight recently, but I do it so I can feel good. Not because I want to be perfect. 

It’s not really the outside that matters when you consider the inside.

In light of recent events, I’ve learnt a lot of things. One of them is that you’ve got to be you no matter what others say about you. You can’t really please everyone in this world. But be the nice you. Not the mean one. Always remember, it’s the inside that counts. 

You can try to please everyone and feel horrible, or you can try to please one and feel the joy of their smile when you do.

I’ve been that girl who changes herself to fit in. I’ve been that girl who acted like someone else. I was messed up. Then I decided I wasn’t going to act anymore. I became me. The real me. The crazy me. (Come on, who isn’t crazy in their own way? Hmmm? :)) I found people who would accept me for being the me I was meant to be.

My point is, everyone’s great in their own way. That’s what’s so great about everyone.  They’re all beautiful in different ways. Everyone’s unique.

There are two types of people in this world. One is those who look in the mirror and feel awful because they ‘don’t look good.’ Two is those who look in the mirror and feel awful because they ‘don’t feel their personality is good.’ Try to be neither and create a third where people look in the mirror and feel happy for who they are. 

Inside every human is a bird waiting to fly. Open your cage and let it stretch its wings. You can only open your cage by accepting you for who you are. Don’t try to be someone else. Do not try to be perfect all the time. Be you – the you you were meant to be. Always.

When I look in the mirror, I see a dark-haired girl with a smile and a twinkle in her eye. I see a positive girl who is ready to take to the sky. I see a girl who experiences the best of emotions all the time. I do not see a girl who is slightly on the heavier side. I do not see a girl who has flaws in her appearance. I do not see a girl who is imperfect.

You do not have to be beautiful on the outside to be beautiful on the inside. But you have to be beautiful on the inside to be beautiful on the outside.

Catch you later!

Niru ❤

9 thoughts on “Being You. The You You Were Meant To Be.

  1. nice post! I always wanted to be in every aspect to be perfect. Since a milt traffic accident I I realized life is too short to strive for perfection. In this fase of my live clothing is very important for me though. So now I can put on a dress, knowing that people in the street can see I’m a man …
    Oh we have a mutual friend/acquaintance: Suzie81.

    • Thank you so very much! True – there’s no point in striving for perfection. I think people like you are just inspiring! It’s hard to be you at first, but once you get the hang of it – oh my, the exhilaration! 🙂 Yes, Suzie’s blog was one of the very first I visited and followed. As you can probably see, I’m relatively new in the blogosphere! I simply love her posts! 🙂 Keep dropping by!

    • Exactly. It’s very subtle – the difference – but if you start to notice it, you’ll know the nice ones from the terrible ones. It took me time to get to know the difference too! 🙂 If you’re terrible, you just seem ugly. You don’t look ugly, you just feel like that. 🙂 Thanks for visiting and for commenting! I love to hear back from all my readers! Keep dropping by! 🙂

    • Thank you so much! (Both for dropping by and for your kind words.) Somehow I felt the need the need to say this. Funnily enough, I knew what I was going to post when I looked in the mirror that morning! 🙂 Keep visiting!

  2. It is hard being who you are, but as long as you are you, people will love you for who you are…Live your life the way you are, if you don’t love the way you are, you are merely another existing creature on this highly populated world infested with humans!

    • True enough. But you see, when there are enough people to judge you, and you’re scared of being judged, your first instinct will be to change yourself so that they won’t. We’ve just got to overcome that instinct. 🙂

I love hearing from my readers. Please comment! :)

