Seven Days Past; Twelve Months Future.

It’s 2015! 

Confetti! Maracas! Sombreros! 😀

…yes, I know it’s been a week. :/ Then again, it hasn’t completely sunk in either. The idea that we are now in the year 2015 is still partly incomprehensible to me. Case in point, the following conversation:

Me: Hey! What’s today’s date?

Friend: 6 January.

Me: Okay, thanks! *writes* 6….January…2014.

Friend: What’s wrong with you?

Me: (bewildered) Nothing?

Friend: Get your head out of the past – it’s 2015!

Me: What?! *frantically searches for a calendar* Oh. My. Goodness.

Friend: *laughs*

My point is, although I’ve experienced seven days of 2015, not once did I feel like a new year had begun. Without that feeling, there was no way I could have written a post on January 1, 2015 about the ‘high hopes I have for the coming twelve months.’ That’s because I didn’t have any.

Nope. So I decided to wait.

Now, I’m not saying we shouldn’t be optimists – for the love of puns, I am one myself – but stay with me for a minute. What does January 1 actually signify? It is the transition into another cycle of 365 days, but that doesn’t mean that the cycle starts over, does it? We don’t start each year from scratch, no matter how much we wish we could. I still had plenty of experiences from 2014 to deal with, as well as several incomplete tasks carried over to 2015. In my mind and heart, till I could finish with all of them, I was still living in 2014.

But today, a week later, I finally felt it. A little bit, but that’s more than enough for me.

I am in the year 2015. It’s a new year. 

It took me seven days, but I managed to wrap up 2014 and gear up for 2015. I do not know what brought on the sudden realisation, and why it happened today, of all days. I do not know a lot of things. All I do know is that I now have high hopes for the upcoming 358 days – which is the total number of days that 2015 has in my calendar. 

Alors! (Oops, a little French escaped. 🙂 ) A belated happy new year to everyone! 😀 I do hope your celebrations were fantastic, and that you’ve set up your resolutions.

Speaking of resolutions, I usually don’t make them. Yes. You heard me right. I know it might sound outrageous, but I have a good reason. At least, I think it’s good enough.

When I decide to do something, I do it – no matter what. However, more often than not, this happens circumstantially rather than deliberately to me. It is when I encounter a situation that calls for a ‘resolution’ that I make it.

Yet this year, I’ve read so many posts written by my blogger friends that inspired me to actually take up resolutions for 2015.

One of them is related to this blog, in fact. During 2014, my posting schedules were erratic, to say the least. No, they were chaotic. So this year –

Resolve: I, Niru, hereby solemnly resolve to post on A Wild Imagination at least two times a week.

There! It’s done! Now that I’ve taken a resolution, I’ll stick to it. 🙂

A huge thank you to WordPress, an enormous thank you to all my friends – bloggers and offline ones alike – a humongous thank you to my family, and a gigantic thank you to youfor sticking by me through the amazing year of 2014 (with its fair share of ups and downs)! I look forward to adventuring 2015 with you.

How did your 2015 begin? Any interesting resolutions out there?

Stay happy, and here’s to a wondrous 2015! As always, read, like and comment below – I’d love to hear from you!

With the first post of a new year, this is Niru, signing off till the next one!

Catch you later!

Niru 🙂

2 thoughts on “Seven Days Past; Twelve Months Future.

  1. One thing that really helped me when I made a similar resolution last year was creating a couple of weekly features and writing down a year’s worth of possible posts that fit each of those topics. Procrastination still got the better of me a few times, but it was MUCH easier to keep up when I knew what I’d be writing about, especially since I can sit down on my day off, prefab several posts, and schedule them for the days they’re supposed to run.

    • That really helps! I might just try doing that – then I needn’t worry as much about getting posts posted on time. 🙂 Although procrastination and I have been best buddies a long time since….oh well. Better sooner than later!

      Thank you very much indeed!

I love hearing from my readers. Please comment! :)

